Workflow Types Workflow Types

Workflow Types

Josh Lavulo-Hodges Josh Lavulo-Hodges

Due Date Workflow

The due date workflow is a type of workflow that allows an Administrator to specify how long a user has to complete a course before they are regularly reminded it is overdue.

This feature is designed for organisations to encourage users to complete selected courses deemed to contain important knowledge within a defined period. Administrators can apply a due date period to any course relative to various starting date conditions. Users will also have a reminder prompt of any course's due date prominently displayed in the Catalogue and View Course page.

If the administrator has been granted the relevant system permissions, the feature is implemented by creating a workflow of type Due Date and applying it to the appropriate course or multiple courses. The workflow can be flexibly configured by the administrator to apply a due date period in units of whole days, weeks or months. Also configurable is the starting date of the due date period, which can be either after the user account was created, after the course was created or after the user enrolled in the course. There is also an option to send an email to the user both three months and one month prior to the end of the initial due date period, as well as recurring monthly reminder emails until the user completes the course.

 

Refresher Workflow

The refresher workflow is a type of workflow that allows an Administrator to specify how long a user's course completion will be active, before it automatically expires requiring the user to complete it again. It also includes the option of notifying a user via email a month prior to, and then again at the time of this expiration occurring.

You can also set completions to expire regardless of the refresh period by Using the Cut Off Date to set completions to expire at a specified date. So, Everyone has to refresh over a certain interval or if your completion is older than a particular date. 

This feature is designed for organisations to regularly refresh or disseminate the latest content of selected courses deemed important knowledge for their users. Administrators can apply and enforce a refresher period on any course, after which users who have already completed it are automatically unenrolled, and then encouraged to do the course again with a prompt prominently displayed in their Course Catalogue and View Course page.

If the administrator has been granted the relevant system permissions, the feature is implemented by creating a workflow of type Refresher and applying it to the appropriate course or multiple courses. The workflow can be flexibly configured by the administrator to apply a refresher period in units of whole days, weeks or months. There is also an option to send an email to the user both three months and one month prior to the end of the refresher period, and immediately after the refresher period has expired when the user is automatically unenrolled from the course.

 

Session Workflow

Administrators can apply a different type of workflow to a Live Learning session. The three options for session workflows are:

None: None is the default option, where users can register and withdraw from a session without the permission of a supervisor.

Withdrawal: Users can register for a session as they wish, however, supervisors receive an email to notify them of the user's registration. A supervisor can then withdraw the user from the session by clicking a link in the email. If the supervisors do not withdraw the user, the user will remain registered for the session. Note: A supervisor is required to provide a reason why the user has been withdrawn from the session, which will be emailed to the user.

Approval: Users can request to register for a session as they wish, however, the user’s registration will first need to be approved by a supervisor. The supervisors will receive an email with a link to approve or deny the users registration. If approved, the user will be registered for the session; if denied, the user will not be registered for the session. Note: Users will receive an email advising they have been approved or denied, and a supervisor is required to provide a reason when denying a user’s registration.

 

Enrolment Workflow

The enrolment workflow is a type of workflow that allows you to automatically enrol users in a course upon their account creation in the LMS. There are further options such as assigning a cohort which will enrol all users in said cohort specifically. The workflow can also send customisable emails.

Was this article helpful?

4 out of 4 found this helpful

Add comment

Please sign in to leave a comment.